Manage access controls
This topic describes how to create, edit, deactivate, and delete access controls in Data Access. Access controls include roles, column masks, and row filters.
Create an access control
Prerequisites
You have one of the following:
- Ownership of any data object.
- A global role with the Data Access > Create Access Controls global permission.
Steps
- On the Data Access landing page, in the left pane, click ACCESS CONTROLS > Roles, Column masks, or Row filters.
- On the Roles, Column masks, or Row filters page, click + or Create role, Create column mask, or Create row filter.
- On the Create [access control type] page, enter the following information.
Field Description Name A display name for the access control.
Technical name The name that is used for the role in the data source. This field appears only for roles, and when you select the Customize technical name option.
By default, the technical name matches the display name and updates itself as you edit the display name. However, if you select Customize technical name, the two become unlinked. Changing the display name no longer changes the technical name. To then rename the role in your data source, you need to edit the technical name directly.
Description A brief explanation of the access control's purpose.
Data sources The data sources where you want the access control to be created and enforced. You can also add them later, after you have created the access control. - Click one of the following buttons.
Button Description Create as inactive Creates an inactive access control in Data Access and does not push it to any selected data sources. You can activate the access control whenever you are ready to push it to the data source by clicking Activate on the access control page. Create Creates an active access control in Data Access and pushes it to selected data sources during the next sync.
The Create button appears when you click the menu next to Create as inactive and then click Create.
You become the owner of the new access control.
Edit an access control
You can edit the name, description, ownership, linked data sources, and access of an access control.
Prerequisites
You have one of the following:
- Ownership of the access control that you want to edit (or ownership of all the data objects in the access control).
- A global role with the Data Access > Create Access Controls global permission.
Steps
- On the Data Access landing page, in the left pane, click ACCESS CONTROLS > Roles, Column masks, or Row filters.
- On the Roles, Column masks, or Row filters page, click the name of the access control that you want to edit.
- To edit the name or description, on the access control page, click the current name or description.Tip If the access control is managed in the data source, you need to internalize it before you can edit it.
- To change the owner, click
> Edit owners.
- To add the data sources where you want the access control to be created and enforced, in the Data source section (in the Details sidebar), click Add.
- Define the access.
Deactivate or delete an access control
Deactivating or deleting an access control removes it from the target data source during the next sync, effectively revoking access. A deactivated access control remains in Collibra, marked Inactive, and it can be reactivated at any time. A deleted access control remains visible, marked Deleted and read-only, until it is permanently removed 48 hours after the next successful sync. A deleted access control cannot be restored.
Prerequisites
You have one of the following:
- Ownership of the access control that you want to deactivate or delete.
- A global role with the Data Access > Manage All Access global permission.
Steps
- On the Data Access landing page, in the left pane, click ACCESS CONTROLS > Roles, Column masks, or Row filters.
- On the Roles, Column masks, or Row filters page, click the name of the access control that you want to deactivate or delete.
- On the access control page, in the upper-right corner, click
> Deactivate or Delete.
The status of the access control changes to Inactive (if deactivated) or Deleted (if deleted).