Deactivate or delete access controls
In Data Access, deactivating or deleting an access control (including a group) removes it from the target data source during the next synchronization, effectively revoking access. The main difference between deactivating and deleting an access control is whether it is permanently removed from the Data Access user interface. Deactivating an access control is the reversible alternative to deleting it.
Differences between deactivating and deleting an access control
The following table summarizes the differences between deactivating and deleting an access control.
| Action | Description | Usage |
|---|---|---|
| Deactivate |
The access control is removed from the data source during the next synchronization. However, it remains visible in Data Access with the status Inactive. You can continue to edit the access control in Data Access and reactivate it at any time. Reactivating the access control sets its status back to Active, and it is pushed to the data source during the next synchronization. |
Deactivate an access control if you want to work on it as a draft in Data Access, without your ongoing edits being pushed to the data source. |
| Delete |
The access control is removed from the data source during the next synchronization. However, it remains visible but read-only in Data Access with the status Deleted. It is permanently removed from Data Access once at least 48 hours have passed since you deleted it and the data source has synchronized the removal. |
Delete an access control if you want to permanently remove it from both the data source and Data Access, while still benefiting from a 48-hour retention window in Data Access. |
Prerequisites
- You have one of the following:
- Ownership of the access control that you want to deactivate or delete.
- A global role with the Data Access > Manage All Access global permission.
- The Enable Group Editing option is enabled in the data source configuration. This is required only if the access control is a group that is linked to a data source.
Steps
- On the Data Access landing page, in the left pane, do one of the following:
- Click ACCESS CONTROLS > Roles or Column masks.
- Click RESOURCES > Groups.
- Click the name of the access control that you want to deactivate or delete.
- In the upper-right corner of the access control page, click
> Deactivate or Delete, and then confirm the action.Note If the access control is managed in the data source, you are first asked to internalize it so that Data Access becomes the new source of truth. This ensures that Data Access can push the deactivation or deletion command to the data source.
Result
- The status of the access control changes to Inactive (if deactivated) or Deleted (if deleted).
- If you internalized the access control, the value in the Managed in field changes from Data source to Collibra.