Change sync schedule or start sync

In Data Access, the default synchronization schedule for a data source is daily at midnight. You can change the global synchronization schedule or set a custom synchronization schedule for specific entities.

You can also manually start a synchronization for a data source at any time, without waiting for the next scheduled synchronization. By default, this action pulls all access controls, groups, accounts, and data objects from the target data source into Data Access, and pushes all access controls from Data Access to the data source. You can, however, choose which synchronization tasks to run.

Change sync schedule

Prerequisites

You own the data source whose sync schedule you want to change.

Steps

  1. On the Data Access landing page, in the left pane, click RESOURCES > Data sources, and then click the data source whose sync schedule you want to change.
  2. On the data source page, in the upper-right corner of the header, click > Configure.
    The Configuration page opens.
  3. To change the global sync schedule:
    1. On the Configuration page, in the Global schedule field, click the current value.
    2. In the Global schedule dialog box, select the synchronization frequency and time.
    3. Click Apply, and then click Save.
  4. To change the synchronization schedule for a specific entity:
    1. On the Configuration page, in the synchronization schedule field for the entity, click the current value.
    2. In the synchronization schedule dialog box, clear the Inherit general sync schedule option, and then specify the synchronization frequency, day of the week (if applicable), and synchronization time.
      Tip If you never want the entity to be synchronized, select the Never sync option.
    3. Click Apply, and then click Save.

Manually start sync

Prerequisites

You own the data source for which you want to manually start the synchronization.

Steps

  1. On the Data Access landing page, in the left pane, click RESOURCES > Data sources, and then click the data source for which you want to manually start the synchronization.
  2. On the data source page, click Sync now.
  3. In the Sync [data source name] dialog box, clear the synchronization tasks that you do not want to run, and then click Start sync.

Sync progress

You can use the Jobs tab on the data source page to check the progress of a synchronization job. The Jobs tab shows a list of all the synchronization jobs that are associated with the data source. For each synchronization job, you can see the entities that were processed, the dates and times when the job started and completed, the status of the job, the duration of the job, and warnings. The warnings list potential issues that were found during the synchronization.

Warnings indicating that certain objects could not be found are normal if you excluded those objects when configuring the data source (by using the Exclude Databases field). These warnings appear because Data Access has pulled the roles that provide access on those excluded objects.

After the synchronization finishes, the Data tab on the data source page shows the ingested hierarchy, for example, databases, schemas, tables, views, and tags.

Related topics

How data sources sync