Deactivating versus deleting access controls

In Data Access, deactivating or deleting an access control removes it from the target data source during the next sync, effectively revoking access. The main difference between deactivating and deleting an access control is whether it is permanently removed from the Data Access user interface. Deactivating an access control is the reversible alternative to deleting it.

The following table summarizes the differences between deactivating and deleting an access control (including a group).

Action Description Usage
Deactivate

The access control is removed from the data source during the next sync. However, it remains visible in Data Access with the status Inactive. You can continue to edit the access control in Data Access and reactivate it at any time. Reactivating the access control sets its status back to Active, and it is pushed to the data source during the next sync.

Deactivate an access control if you want to work on it as a draft in Data Access, without your ongoing edits being pushed to the data source.
Delete

The access control is removed from the data source during the next sync. However, it remains visible but read-only in Data Access with the status Deleted. It is permanently removed from Data Access after at least 48 hours have passed since you deleted it and the data source has synchronized the removal.

Delete an access control if you want to permanently remove it from both the data source and Data Access, while still benefiting from a 48-hour retention window in Data Access.

Related topics

Deactivate or delete an access control