Cancel a workflow task

You can cancel a task that is assigned to you or that you can access if the workflow definition settings allow you to.

Important Canceling a task cancels the entire workflow.

Prerequisites

  • You have a global role with the Participate in workflow global permission.

    Note Users that have a global role with the Workflow Administration or System administration permission do not require this permission explicitly.

  • You have one of the roles defined in the Stop workflow definition setting.

    Note Users that have a global role with the Workflow Administration or System administration permission do not need to meet this prerequisite.

Steps

  1. View the task you want to cancel.
  2. In the upper-right corner of the sidebar, select More icon → Cancel Task.
  3. Enter an optional reason to cancel the task and click Cancel Task.
  1. View the task you want to cancel.
  2. Start the reassignment:
    • From the resource the task is for, at the end of the task bar, click More → Cancel Task.
    • From the Tasks menu, at the bottom of the preview pane, click Cancel Task.
  3. Enter an optional reason to cancel the task and click Cancel Task.