Assessment permissions

This topic explains how to control who can view, edit, and retake assessments. It defines the roles used in assessments, describes the permission settings in templates and how they flow to assessments, includes a matrix of the actions each role can perform, and provides steps to change permissions on the assessment page.

About assessment permissions

You can protect sensitive assessments by giving specific permissions to individuals. This includes choosing whether an assessment is private or public, and assigning people to collaborate on the assessment. These permissions determine who can view, edit, or retake the assessment, and thus prevent unauthorized access.

Assessment permissions are role-based and differ from global permissions related to Assessments.

Role definitions

Owner

User in the Owner field in the Properties sidebar of an assessment. Typically, the owner of an assessment is the user who created or retook the assessment.

Assignee

User in the Assignees field in the Properties sidebar of an assessment.

Assessments administrator

User who has the Assessments Admin global role.

Permission settings in a template

The template used in an assessment defines who can view, start, and retake the assessment, based on the following settings.

Setting Description
Who can start this

Determines who can start an assessment on an asset. This setting is available only for templates associated with an asset type; templates not linked to an asset type don't have this restriction. It's a multi-select field: you can select one or more resource roles.

By default, this setting is empty, and anyone with a global role that has the Assessments > Conduct Assessments global permission can start an assessment on any asset of the template's asset type. If you select one or more resource roles, only users who hold one of the selected roles on the asset, including roles inherited from a parent domain or community, can start an assessment on that asset. Users without one of the required roles don't see the option to start the assessment, whether from the Lifecycle tracker or the Assessments landing page. A user with the Manage all resources global permission can always start an assessment, regardless of this setting.

This restriction is always enforced against the latest published version of the template, not necessarily the version an existing assessment was originally started with. If you retake an assessment for the same asset, this setting isn't checked again, but if you retake it for a different asset, it is.

Who can view this

Determines who can view an assessment. You can select one of the following options:

  • Everyone: Anyone with access to the Assessments product can see the assessment. That is, anyone who has a global role with the Product Rights > Assessments global permission can see the assessment.
  • Only owner and assignees: This is selected by default. Only the owner and assignees of the assessment can see it.

The owner of an assessment or an Assessments administrator can always change the view permissions of the assessment at the assessment level.

Retake type

Determines how a retake is handled when a user retakes an assessment based on this template. You can select one of the following options:

  • Out-of-the-box retake: This is selected by default. Retaking the assessment immediately creates a duplicate assessment, as described in Retake an assessment. The Who can retake this setting (specified in the following row) determines who can trigger the retake.
  • Custom workflow: Retaking the assessment starts a Collibra workflow that you select, instead of immediately creating a duplicate assessment. It's up to the configured workflow to call the retake operation, for example, after a manual approval step. Only the workflow itself, not individual users, can complete the retake; the Who can retake this setting doesn't apply.
Who can retake this

Determines who can retake an assessment. This setting applies only when Retake type (specified in the preceding row) is set to Out-of-the-box retake. You can select one of the following options:

  • Everyone with view access: This is selected by default. It refers to the option selected in the Who can view this setting (specified in the preceding row).
  • Owner and assignees: Only the owner and assignees of the assessment can retake it. Here, "owner" refers to the owner of the assessment, not the owner of the asset.
  • Only the owner: Only the owner of the assessment can retake it. Here, "owner" refers to the owner of the assessment, not the owner of the asset.
Note Updates to the permission settings in a template do not affect any existing assessments. They are applied only to new assessments.

How permissions flow from templates

By default, assessments inherit view and retake permissions from their template. The owner of an assessment or an Assessments administrator can change the view permissions of the assessment at the assessment level.

The following table describes where you can manage specific permissions for assessments and templates.

Permission type Manage in template Manage in assessment
View Green check icon Yes, via the Who can view this setting Green check icon Yes, via the Permission to View setting in the Properties sidebar
Start Green check icon Yes, via the Who can start this setting Red close icon No
Edit Red close icon No Green check icon Yes, via the Permission to Edit setting in the Properties sidebar
Retake Green check icon Yes, via the Who can retake this setting Red close icon No

Role-based permissions matrix

The following table summarizes the actions that are available to each role.

Action Owner Assignee Assessments administrator
View an assessment. Green check icon Yes Green check icon Yes Green check icon Yes
Edit answers of a draft assessment. Green check icon Yes Green check icon Yes Red close icon No
Edit answers of a completed, submitted, or obsolete assessment. Red close icon No Red close icon No Red close icon No
Edit the name of a draft assessment. Green check icon Yes Red close icon No Green check icon Yes
Edit the name of a completed, submitted, or obsolete assessment. Red close icon No Red close icon No Red close icon No
Change view permissions of any assessment. Green check icon Yes Red close icon No Green check icon Yes
Change assignees of any assessment. Green check icon Yes Red close icon No Green check icon Yes
Change the owner of any assessment. Red close icon No Red close icon No Green check icon Yes
Retake any assessment. Green check icon Yes Depends on the template setting Green check icon Yes
Complete or submit any assessment. Green check icon Yes Green check icon Yes Red close icon No
Download any assessment as PDF. Green check icon Yes Green check icon Yes Green check icon Yes
Mark any assessment as obsolete. Green check icon Yes Red close icon No Red close icon No
Delete any assessment. Green check icon Yes Red close icon No Red close icon No

Change permissions

You can change who can see or edit an assessment, directly on the assessment page.

Prerequisites

  • You have a global role with the Assessments > Conduct assessments global permission.
  • You either have the Assessments Admin global role or are the owner of the assessment.

Steps

  1. Open the Assessments landing page..
  2. Click the assessment whose permissions you want to change.
  3. In the Properties sidebar, click the current value in each of the following sections, select the required option, and then click Check icon.
    SectionOptionResult
    Permission to ViewEveryonePublic. Everyone can see the assessment.
    Permission to ViewOnly Owner and Assignees

    Private. Only the owner and selected assignees (in the Assignees field) can see the assessment.

    Permission to EditOwner

    Owner can:

    • Edit the name and answers if the assessment status is Draft.
    • Change the view permission and assignee of the assessment.
    • Complete or submit the assessment.
    • Mark the assessment as obsolete.
    • Delete the assessment.

    The owner of an assessment is the user who created or retook the assessment. Only an Assessments administrator can change the owner, regardless of the assessment status.

    Permission to EditAssignees

    Assignees can:

    • Edit answers if the assessment status is Draft.
    • Complete or submit the assessment.

  4. Your changes to permissions are saved.

What happens next

  • When the view or edit permissions of a submitted assessment are updated, the change is automatically recorded as a comment on the History tab of the linked review asset, showing the new permissions.
  • If notifications are enabled in the template, an email is automatically sent to someone whenever they are set as the owner or assignee of a draft assessment.